175th Anniversary Celebrations 9th - 16th June 2019
Culham station first opened on 12th June 1844. Although downgraded to an unmanned station in the 1970's, it has remained in continuous passenger use since opening. This date also marked the opening of what was then the broad gauge branch from Didcot to Oxford, with Culham (originally called 'Abingdon Road') being for many years the only intermediate station on the line.
It is hoped to mark this important anniversary in some way during the week 9th to 16th June 2019. To this end, various rail related businesses and individuals are being invited to sponsor, publicise or participate in the celebrations. This page will be developed to reflect planned activities and sponsors, together with any media coverage.
If anybody has any ideas, or would like to particiate in some way we would be very pleased to hear from you via ku.oc.noitatsmahluc@ofni
~~~~~~ ooooooOOOoooooo ~~~~~~
Interest is gathering as the anniversary approaches and it is possible that there will be inter-linked activities all along the line between Didcot and Oxford - watch this space for any developments.
Sunday 14th October 2018 - Oxrail 2018
To help celebrate and publicise the 175th anniversary, the Old Ticket Office at Culham will be attending the 2018 exhibition of the Oxford & District Model Railway Club. On display will be various items of memorabilia, photographs and models from our collection, and some unique items loaned specially by ACE Trains.
Saturday 16th March 2019 - Abrail 2019
The second (and last) exhibition the Old Ticket Office at Culham will be attending is the 2019 exhibition of the Abingdon & District Model Railway Club. This will provide another opportunity to see various items of memorabilia, photographs and models from our collection, and some more unique items loaned specially by ACE Trains.
Wednesday 12th June 2019 - Media day
Today marks the 175th anniversary proper of the opening of the Didcot to Oxford branch line and of the Old Ticket Office itself.
Sunday 16th June 2019 - Public open day 10:00 until 16:00
Being Father's Day provides the perfect opportunity to come and discover the history and background of the station. The Old Ticket Office will be open to the public to explore the original Brunel era features of this unique building and its surroundings.
Many items of GWR memorabilia including old uniforms will be on display, together with old photographs, historical drawings and books featuring the station.
See the old ticket office window, original tickets dating back to the 1890's, and Edmondson date punches. You can even take home a special souvenir ticket.
Search out some remnants of broad gauge rail, see graffiti from 140 years ago and try to find the mark where a fatal shot ricoched from the ticket counter top in 1868.
Also on display will be models of the ticket office in three scales ('N', '00' and '0') and various items of rolling stock and engines together with model private owner wagons from both Culham and neighbouring stations. We are enormously grateful for the support received from several manufacturers, listed below, who have either donated unique pre-production samples for permanent display in the ticket office, or loaned precious items for us to include in our anniversary displays at the Oxford MRC and Abingdon MRC exhibitions.
When visiting the station members of the public are not allowed onto the old Platform 2 due to safety and access prohibitions. The station itself is operational with trains passing throughout the day, so sensible care must be taken at all times to ensure ones own safety and that of others. Children should always be kept under adult supervision.
All visitors to the Old Ticket Office do so at their own risk and no responsibility will be accepted by the organisers for any loss or injury howsoever caused.
No public facilities of any type exist either at the Old Ticket Office or on Culham station itself. Free parking is available on the station forecourt, or over the line by the Railway Inn.
Due to the nature of the building disabled access is limited, however there is only a small step into the main waiting room. For anybody unable to use the footbridge it is possible to cross between platforms by means of the old road bridge. Caution should be exercised by anyone using the old road bridge as there are no footpaths and it is still open to traffic.
Network Rail Corporate Archive who kindly supplied high resolution scans of historical drawings and plans of Culham station
Dapol who kindly donated decorated samples for static display of two of their latest models (A GWR streamlined Railcar in '00' and a 57xx in '0' gauge). They have also offered to publicise the anniversary
Oxforddiecast who kindly donated the first painted tooling sample of their delightful '00' scale Dean goods engine
ACE Trains who have generously promised the loan of some unique '0' gauge items for display on our anniversary stands at the Oxford MRC and Abingdon MRC exhibitions
Culham Science Centre who will be publicising the event via their intranet and social media outlets
Main sponsors of the Anniversary Celebrations are:Entikera Limited - with registered office at the Old Ticket Office, trading as :-
MyPicturePrint - Online Photo & Giclee printers and picture framers